car rentals

Search for car rentals


Country / Pick up location

Pick up location

Drop off location

Pick up and drop off dates

Pick up date

Drop off date

Driver residence


apollo usa - ski car rentals companies

apollo usa depot information

Apollo USA Rental Terms for travel between 01-Apr-2019 and 31-Mar-2020

Car Rates & Conditions


Additional Authorized Operator (AAO)
The minimum age for Additional Authorized Operators (AAO) is 20 years of age (Age differential charge
applies for age 20-24).
There is an extra charge for each Additional Authorized Operator of $13.50 USD per day, with a
maximum charge of $189.00 USD per (AAO) per rental, with the following exceptions:
Within the State of California the fee is $0.00 USD per day, state law prohibits assessment of
an AAO fee.
Within the State of New York, the fee is $3.00 USD per day, up to a maximum AAO fee of
$189.00 USD per rental.
Within the State of Nevada, the fee is $12.22 USD per day, up to a maximum AAO fee of
$189.00 USD per rental.
The above fees will apply for Additional Authorized Operator unless AAO fees are stated as being
included in the quoted net rates.

Cross Border Rentals
In most cases, vehicles may be driven across the Canadian border.
It is recommended to have PERS cover when using vehicle in cross border rentals for the US
and Canada.


Vehicles may be driven into Mexico with prior authorization and from any locations in
California, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas.
An additional Mexican insurance must be purchased locally to do so. The cost of Mexican
insurance is between $38.00 - $48.00 USD per calendar day plus taxes and fees, which will
assist with breakdown issues. PERS is not available in Mexico.
Due to Mexican Law, Mexican citizens are not permitted to drive U.S. owned vehicles in
Mexico. Any attempts to do so will result in fines and penalties.
PERS is not available in Mexico.


Debit card Policy
When a debit card is presented as form of payment, at the start of the rental, two (2) forms of
identification must be presented:
A valid Foreign Country issued Driver’s License and a Government issued ID, in the
same name as the driver’s license and credit card, such as a Passport.
Debit cards may be used at time of return to pay for the rental charges.
We accept most debit cards issued under MasterCard, VISA, or Discover logo at time of rent
(with proper authorization).
Debit cards can be used by an Additional Authorized Operator (AAO) for qualification
Debit Cards are accepted at many locations to qualify the rentals when other requirements are
At Airport locations: renter is required to provide proof of a return airline flight to
coincide with the rental and present two (2) valid forms of identification.
At Off-Airport locations, the renter must be at least 25 years old, present two (2)
valid forms of identification and one of the following: Proof of return travel ticket to
coincide with rental (airline or cruise)

Required Deposits
A credit card in the renter’s name with a minimum deposit of $200USD or 150% of the estimated rental
charges is required, whichever is greater.
Cash deposits are not permitted.

Unlimited mileage applies to all vehicle rentals.

Disabled Drivers
A variety of special services are provided to make the rental process easier for physically challenged
customers. At all corporate locations, you can reserve a car equipped with hand controls. There is no
additional charge.
Hand Controls:
Hand controls are devices, which attach to the gas and brake pedals of the vehicle, enabling a
physically challenged person to drive the vehicle without using their legs.
Hand Controls must be requested at the time of booking, so that the mechanics at the location
can fit the Hand Controls to the vehicle for the customer, as it can take up to an hour to fit
these controls onto a vehicle.
Steering Balls / Spinner Knobs:
Steering Balls / Spinner Knob attaches to the steering wheel at specific clock position
requested by client (sent at time of reservation)
The majority of vehicles can be adapted with Steering Balls/Spinner Knobs and these are
provided free of charge.
Must be requested at the time of booking to include the clock position for the device, so that
the mechanics at the location can fit in the correct position for the customer.
Disabled Driving Permits:
Customers cannot use another countries Disabled Parking Permit in the USA. Only USA
Disabled Parking permits are permitted.
Upon arrival customers should contact the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) to request a
USA Disabled Parking Permit. They will be advised as to the location of the nearest DMV office
and they will be required to visit this office in person to apply for a Disabled Parking Permit.
The cost of this is approx. $15.00 USD for 90 days, plus local taxes and fees.
They need to bring proof of ID plus their country of origin disabled parking permit.

Driver’s License Requirements
All Renters must present a valid national driver’s license.
Rates are not valid for US or Canadian citizens or holders of a US or Canadian driver’s license.
A valid driver’s license is one that has not expired and shows no restrictions that would prevent the
renter from legally driving a vehicle.
We do not accept a copy of license (must be original).
Renters, including Additional Authorized Operators, must present a valid national driver's license, a
return airline ticket, and the voucher (except Voucherless programs).
If the driver’s license is not in English, then an International Driving Permit is strongly recommended;
this is required for translation purposes to confirm the validity of the driver's license for the safety of our
NOTE: A current valid foreign driver’s license must always be presented at the rental counter.

Driving Restrictions
In most cases, vehicles can be driven in any state in the continental United States.
Vehicles are permitted to be transported on ferries. However, if the destination of the ferry is to a site
with gravel or unpaved roads, use of car is not permitted.
Vehicles may not be driven on poorly maintained or unpaved roads.
In the State of Alaska, these include, but are not limited to: The Dalton, Steese, Dempster, Elliott, Denali
& Taylor Highways. In case of violation, customers are responsible for all damage and for the cost of
returning the vehicle to the rental location.

Emergency Roadside Service (ERS)
Basic Emergency Roadside Service is included with every rental. This covers mechanical defects or
breakdowns that can occur, when they occur within the approved driving area at no additional charge.

Extension of Rentals
You must make a new reservation for the extension rental period. Customer will need to return to
location to renew contract.

Early Return/Late Return/Rental Deviation Fee
Late return or ‘rental deviation’ fee is incurred if a customer returns the vehicle before or after the
scheduled drop-off time.
The customer will be charged the local daily rate, plus a $12.00 USD (up to a maximum of $60.00 USD
or 5 days) daily fee if they extend their rental beyond 12 hours of the return date/time and does not
notify the Supplier by calling 1-800-654-4174.
Customers who are on rent who return the vehicle more than 24 hours before or 12 hours after the date
and time previously scheduled or change the location of their return and notify the Supplier more than
24 hours in advance of an applicable return will be charged the nominal $10.00 USD fee.
The agents will be able to adjust the Rental Agreement and inform the client of any rate changes and
applicable fees, which will be at the local daily rate.
Early return: there is no refund for unused days.

Fuel Policy
Client may purchase a tank of fuel at the time of rental at a local competitive price, which eliminates the
need for client to refill before returning.
For packages with Fuel included renters should return vehicle empty. There is no credit for unused fuel.
Vehicles are provided with a full tank of fuel, there is no refund for unused fuel. If a customer has not
accepted the FPO they can return the vehicle with a full tank.

Grace Period & Maximum Rental Duration
A rental day consists of 24 consecutive hours, each day starting at the time of the rental. Extra charges
will apply when the rental exceeds a 24-hour period by 29 minutes. The customer will be charged at
local rates for the extra time.
An extra hour charge will be charged for rentals returned 29 – 59 minutes after the return due time at a
rate of one-half the extra day charge. Rentals returned 60 minutes or more after the return due time will
be charged an extra day.
Rental periods cannot exceed 62 days. If a rental is in-excess of 62 days, additional reservations are
necessary to accommodate the total number of days. The number of days reserved for each reservation
may be split up as necessary, as long as no one reservation exceeds 62 days. The rental agreement
must be renewed at a participating location and therefore client must return to location to do so.
For example, a 70-day rental may be booked on a reservation of 62 days and one of 8 days or
may be booked on a reservation of 40 days and 30 days. Additional reservations/voucher are
required for each rental period, which must be presented at the counter for renewal of the
rental record prior to the 63rd day (or whatever day rental has been split to). If the vehicle is
returned to a location other than the original renting location, drop off charges may apply.

Vehicle Availability
The supplier reserves the right, at its own discretion, to capacity control in any location, at any time, and
for specific programs, according to vehicle availability, demand levels, and/or program performance. In
addition, all car classes may not be available in all locations at all times.

Renters may upgrade to another class of vehicle at the time of rental (subject to availability).
Upgrades are based on supply and demand and renter shall pay directly to Company all charges for
such upgrades.

GPS-Satellite Navigation
All locations will rent either NeverLost® Magellan or NeverLost® Navigator+, not both devices.
Customers will not be able to upgrade from NeverLost® Magellan to NeverLost® Navigator+, because
both products are not available for rent at the same location.
Missing accessories or broken, lost or stolen units will the responsibility of the renter and will be charged
at the current replacement rates.
NeverLost® Navigator+:
 Retails for a fee of $16.99 USD per day with a 14-day maximum per month.
 Customers can buy 60 phone credits on the device for $8.95 USD per day.
 Customers can buy the unlimited data that can serve as a hotspot for up to 2 devices for $5.95
USD per day.
Customers will pay our 3rd party vendor directly.
NeverLost® Magellan:
 Retail for a fee of $13.99 USD per day with a 14-day maximum per month.

Infant & Child Seats
The daily charge is $13.99 USD per day, maximum of $91.00 USD per rental plus taxes and fees.
Infant seats: Cosco Light & Comfy (Model #IC206CHZ) - Rear facing: Birth and Infants 5 – 22 pounds
(2.3 – 10 kg) and 19 – 29 inches (48 – 74 cm) in height.
Toddler seats: Cosco Next (Model #CC123FSM) – Rear facing: 5 – 35 pounds (2.3 – 16 kg), height: 19
– 36 inches (48 – 91 cm). Forward facing: 22 – 40 pounds (10 – 18.2 kg), height: 34 – 43 inches (86 –
109 cm). Note: The Cosco Next rear facing may be provided as Birth and Infant seat)
Booster seats: Cosco Pronto (Model #22-491FSM) – Forward facing: for children 40 – 100 pounds (18.2
– 45.5 kg) and 34 – 57 inches (86 – 145 cm) in height.
Customers are required to install the child seats themselves.
In all North America markets, the ISOFIX system is known as LATCH (Lower Anchors and Tethers for
Children). LATCH has been required in all passenger vehicles since 2002 and approved child seats are
LATCH equipped.
Customers are also permitted to use their own car seats.


Satellite Radio (Sirus)
SiriusXM is the country's premier satellite radio entertainment provider. SiriusXM delivers over 130
channels of satellite radio throughout the North America. There are 60 original channels of commercial
free music, 60 channels of news, sports, entertainment and 11 channels of live traffic and weather (20
major metro areas).
A daily charge of $7.99 USD per full or partial day

Ski Racks
Available on request in ski areas of Denver and on the following vehicles only C, and F.
Payable locally from $18.00 USD per day, maximum of $126.00 USD per rental plus local taxes and

Winterised Vehicles
During the winter season (1 October through 1 April) we provide our fleet with all season tires, ice
scrapper or snow brush, de-icer washer fluid, radiator anti-freeze at winter level and emergency road
service at no extra cost. Local regulations in certain conditions may override this from time to time.

The PlatePass electronic toll payment system, which is operated by PlatePass LLC, a division of
American Traffic Solutions, to provide customers the convenience of utilizing electronic toll lanes without
incurring any toll road fines or penalties.
Customers can opt into the PlatePass service in 3 ways:
 At the commencement of the rental
 At return
 By opening the transponder shield box (E-Z Pass transponder region only)

To Avoid using PlatePass:
If your rental vehicle includes a transponder, make sure it remains secured within the shield box, with
the shield box closed and pay all tolls with cash, with your personal toll transponder (where permitted)
compatible with the toll road, or directly to the toll authority (where permitted).
Some tollways without cash lanes permit payment in other ways and at other times. Toll authorities
sometimes change their toll payment options. Check with the applicable toll authority to learn all
payment options.
PlatePass will charge $5.95 USD for each calendar day they incur a toll + cost of tolls (at the highest
undiscounted toll rate), with no pricing cap.
Customers who utilize PlatePass will begin receiving electronic receipts/invoices for their charges. The
receipts/invoices will be sent to customers who have a valid email address on file 1-3 weeks after their
This new form of communication to our customers who opt-in to PlatePass will provide them with
increased transparency into tolling charges they incurred during their rental and an easy way for them to
pay any outstanding charges.

Underage Drivers
Minimum rental age is 20 years in all states
There are age restrictions on select specialty vehicles:
 U.S. – New York, New Jersey
a. $35.00 USD per day – vehicle classes B, C and F
b. $45.00 USD per day – vehicle classes L4, M, and R
 All other U.S. States:
. $27.00 USD per day – vehicle classes B, C and F.
. $30.00 USD per day – vehicle classes L4, M and R
Be advised that certain locations and car classes require two (2) forms of identification as a condition to
Rates are non-discountable and may be increased in jurisdictions that during the period covered by this
agreement change the tax rate, local surcharge, or other inclusive items or introduce laws to prohibit the
offering of optional services such as LDW (Loss Damage Waiver).
If any provision of this agreement conflicts with applicable national or local law, or if such law imposes different or
additional requirements applicable to the rights or obligations of the parties hereunder, then the provisions of
such law shall apply to the extent necessary to comply therewith.

Taxes and Fees
There may be a local surcharge imposed by the state. Any such charges are payable at the time of
collection, unless stated as being included in the net rates. Optional items such as child seats, one way
rental fees, GPS plus items not included in the net rate (voucher) are subject to local taxes and fees.
Products purchased at the rental counter are subject to all applicable federal, state and local taxes,
fees, charges and surcharges.
If any additional federal, state, local taxes, fees, charges or surcharges are imposed during the term of
this contract, or, if there is a modification to these, such additions or modifications will be charged to the
client at the counter.
Even if stated as included in the net rate, extra charges including but not limited to concession recovery
fee and state tax may apply to any additional items purchased at the counter or any extra charges
incurred by the rental at time of drop off.
List of Taxes, Fees and other charges consists of, but is not limited to, the following:
 Sales taxes: sales taxes vary between cities and states ranging from approximately 0% to
 Surcharges: surcharges vary by state, city and location.
 Energy surcharge: the cost of energy needed to support our business operations, to offset the
cost of utilise, bus fuel, oil and grease, etc. $1.49 usd per rental where it is not prohibited by
 Concession recovery fee: concession recovery fees are charged unless prohibited by law.
These fees assist in covering all or part of the average concession fees plus the additional cost
of doing business. Concession recovery fees can apply to but are not limited to airports, hotels,
fbo’s and train station locations. They apply on the prepaid portion of the rental and on any and
all products purchased at the rental counter.
 Vehicle license fees: vehicle license fees vary by state and vehicle type.
 Customer facility charges (cfc): this is an additional charge by the airports to offset the
operation of a consolidated car rental facility or bus system at the airport. Varies by location
between $0.31 - $10.00 usd per day / $0.30 - $19.00 usd per rental
 Busing fee: is a charge imposed by the company to recover amounts paid towards the
operation of a consolidated car rental bus system at the airport. These are above the costs
paid through the cfc and is not government mandated. Varies by location $3.40 - $4.49 usd per

Waivers & Insurances
Emergency Sickness Protection (ESP):
Optional protection available only to Non-US citizens who possess a valid non-U.S. passport at
the time of rental. It provides certain medical benefits for some sicknesses for the renter and
any person who is a member of the renter's traveling party. Additional covered persons must
also possess a valid non-U.S. passport and must have written proof that they are a member of
the renter's traveling party. Not available at all locations.
ESP provides coverage up to $10,000 USD per covered person for the reasonable and
customary cost of necessary medical care for a covered sickness, including: medical or
surgical treatment, hospital services, supplies, x-rays and lab fees, local ambulance, visits to a
physician’s office. (There is a $100 USD deductible per person per sickness).
Maximum $2500 USD for dental treatment (any dental care must be related to a sickness)
No routine dental care will be covered.

Exclusions: we will not pay medical expenses benefits for any treatment or services for sickness that is
caused by, or results from sickness where the insured’s trip to the host country is undertaken for
treatment or advice for such sickness, except as provided in the Policy.
Pre-existing Conditions
 Any treatment, services or supplies received by the Insured that are incurred or received while
he or she is in his or her own country.
Losses resulting from an accident, hernia, appendicitis, cardiovascular disease, cancers,
tumors, tuberculosis, organ transplant, congenital conditions, deviated septum.
Cosmetic surgery, dental care, sexually transmitted diseases, birth control, fertility/infertility
treatment, pregnancy, miscarriage, abortion and emotional or mental disorders of any kind.
Expenses for eyeglasses, contact lenses, or hearing aids.

 Liability Insurance Supplement (LIS)
 Liability Insurance Supplement (LIS) covers third-party automobile liability claims for bodily injury
and property damage.
 LIS is primary coverage to your personal policy and covers your liability to third parties, resulting
from an auto accident in the rented vehicle, for bodily injury and property damage (other than to the
rental vehicle).
 Maximum LIS protection up to $1M for each accident for bodily injury and property damage excess
of minimum underlying statutory limits (on rentals in California and Florida the maximum combined
single limit is $2M for liability only) and up to $1M for uninsured and underinsured motorist
coverage for bodily injury per accident in excess of minimum underlying statutory limits.
LIS product will be priced between $12.34 - $18.85 USD per day plus taxes and fees (varies by
state), where not included in the rate.

Damage Liability-Theft Liability Excess:
No Excess

Primary Liability Protection:
For rentals in the U.S., where required to be provided, primary liability protection provides to
the renter liability protection for bodily injuries and property damage to third parties caused by
the renter.
The limits of liability for this primary liability protection is the minimum statutory financial liability
limits for the state in which the accident occurs.
Currently, primary liability protection applies to rentals in the following states only: Maryland,
Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia.
Primary liability protection also applies to rentals by international customers (driver’s license
indicates an address outside the U.S.) in California.

Loss Damage Waiver (LDW):
In most states, in the event of any other loss or damage to the car, regardless of fault,
customer’s financial responsibility extends to the full value of the car at the time of rental, less
its salvage value, plus expenses for towing, storage and impound fees, diminution of the value
of the car as determined by the Supplier, an administrative charge, and a reasonable charge
for loss of use. If customer’s responsibility differs in the state in which the customer rents, it will
be stated in Paragraph 4 of the Rental Agreement.

When customer purchases LDW, which is not insurance, the customer will not be held
responsible for damages to the car in the event that any damage should occur, provided the
damage was not the result of a prohibited use of the vehicle.

Premium Roadside Service (PERS):
If Premium Emergency Roadside Service is purchased, costs are covered up to $1,000 for
services such as keys locked in the car, lost keys, dead batteries resulting from lights being left
on, and spare tire mounting.
In addition, PERS includes a 90-minute roadside service guarantee.
It also covers travel interruption reimbursements up to $1,000 per rental for incremental travel
expenses incurred when the vehicle is disabled in an accident and we cannot provide a
replacement vehicle within 3 hours.
Cost is $8.99 USD per day plus taxes and fees. (Effective April 1, 2017)
This towing and support service is country specific so would only include cover when travelling
within the US or Canada.
PERS does not apply in Mexico but the Mexican Insurance will assist with breakdown issues.

Personal Accident Insurance (PAI):
Personal Accident Insurance (PAI) allows customer to elect accidental death and accident
medical expense coverage for renter and passengers during the rental period of the vehicle. If
this coverage is accepted, the benefits for the renter will apply to all accidental injuries during
the rental period, the renter is covered in or out of the rental vehicle. Passenger(s) are covered
while entering, exiting, or occupying the rental vehicle.
Total Benefit for any one accident is limited to $225,000 USD. Rentals originating in the State of
Mississippi do not have a single accident limit of $225,000 USD.

Personal Effects Coverage (PEC):
PEC is an option that insures against risk of loss or damage to help protect customer’s personal
belongings while renting. PEC insurance coverage includes those personal effects owned by
customer and those members of his or her immediate family traveling with customer during the
rental who are permanent residents of the customer’s household. PEC does not extend to nonfamily members traveling with customer.
PEC Coverage Limits
a. A maximum of $600 USD per each covered person per occurrence. Total
benefits per rental period are limited to $1,800 USD.
b. In the event any claims are made under the Policy, coverage for succeeding
claims during the same rental will be reduced by the amount of the claim paid.
c. Rentals originating in the State of Mississippi are not subject to the $1,800
USD per rental maximum.
d. Rentals originating in the State of New York are subject to coverage limits
which are $500 USD per person, with the maximum coverage for all claims
during any rental limited to $1,500 USD.
NOTE: PAI and PEC are not available separately and must be taken in combination.

Terms of booking on this website

Information disclaimer
The rates on this website are often heavily discounted. This is due to our negotiated rates and bulk buying power. On very rare occasions, a rate may be displayed incorrectly due to our, or a vehicle supplier's error. In such a case, if you book with us at a quoted rate that is incorrect, we will notify you of any price change and give you the option to proceed or cancel. We make every effort to keep information on our site up to date, but we cannot guarantee this website is free of errors or omissions and retain the right to update or change the information published at any time.

To the extent permitted by law we/the owners of this website will not be liable to you or to any third party (whether in contract, tort, or otherwise) for any direct, indirect or consequential loss or damage (including but not limited to any accident, injury, delay or loss of enjoyment) arising out of your reliance upon information contained on this website, including but not limited to your use (or inability to use) any products or services described or procured through this website.

When you pick up your vehicle, you will be required to sign a rental agreement with the supplier of the vehicle. Your rental and use of the vehicle will be governed by the terms of the rental agreement and any other documentation or information provided to you by the supplier at the time you pick up your vehicle. The rental agreement is between you and the supplier and we will not be liable to you or to any third party in relation to the terms of the supplier's rental agreement or any other documentation provided to you by the supplier at the time of pick up.

While we will make reasonable efforts to ensure we are representing only reputable suppliers, we make no warranty about the fitness or suitability of any third party (supplier) product or service and will not accept responsibility for the quality or fitness of any vehicle. We welcome feedback from our customers on their experience with our suppliers. We may, at our discretion, provide you with reasonable assistance in resolving any dispute you may have with a supplier.

Our total liability to you in relation to your use of this website and the information contained on this website will not exceed the dollar amount of the deposit we have received from you in relation to your booking/rental. Refunds will not be made for bookings cancelled due to inclement weather. Again, we strongly recommend that you take out travel insurance. Your use of this website is governed by the laws of New Zealand and the jurisdiction of the New Zealand courts.

Booking information
To make a booking you must complete our booking form which is easy to follow and secured with the latest encryption technology. Once we receive your form, we will, subject to availability, confirm your booking by emailing you a confirmation voucher and invoice.

If you are booking via phone, please make sure you have read the terms and conditions of the vehicle you wish to rent first. Our reservations consultant will ask you if you have read the terms and agree to them before proceeding. The onus is always on the renter to ensure they make themselves fully aware of the terms displayed on our website.

Information disclosure
In booking on this website you acknowledge that we disclose your information to your selected Supplier in order to provide the requested rental services.

Vehicle capacity and fitness to drive
Under no circumstances are you permitted to carry more passengers than the vehicle you rent is legally registered to carry, and if you do your insurance may be invalidated. The number of seatbelts (and passengers) is indicated next to each vehicle on this website. Luggage capacity where shown is an indication only and we will not be responsible should you be unable to fit your entire luggage into a vehicle. It is your responsibility to choose a journey that is within your capabilities. A vehicle supplier can refuse to rent a vehicle to any person who is in their opinion unfit to drive or does not meet eligibility requirements. In such circumstances we will have no further liability to you.

Refund Policy
In the event of cancellation, any deposit amounts paid at the time of booking are non-refundable. 

If you are unsatisfied with our service, please contact us within 48 hours of placing your booking or request and we will work to resolve any issues and determine if compensation is due. In the event you have completed your rental and are unhappy with your vehicle, we are happy to assist you in seeking compensation from the operator of the vehicle.

This website is owned and operated by Online Republic Ltd. Our financial centre and marketing office is based at Level 5, 12 Madden Street, Wynyard Quarter, Auckland, New Zealand. In Australia, we are based at Suite 3.01, 11 Queens Rd, Melbourne VIC 3004. Thank you for booking with us.

Subscribe for exclusive rental offers